Saturday, 20 April, 2019

Phil Mickelson penalized two strokes during final round of Greenbrier

Phil Mickelson assessed himself a 2-stroke penalty when he didn't have Phil Mickelson assessed himself a 2-stroke penalty when he didn't have
Cary Erickson | 09 July, 2018, 17:39

Phil Mickelson broke the rules again, only this time he didn't realize it until after his violation.

Phil Mickelson got things a little wrong at the 7th of A Military Tribute at The Greenbrier in West Virginia. "A player must not improve or allow to be improved his line of play or a reasonable extension of that line beyond the hole by removing or pressing down sand, loose soil, replaced divots or other cut turf placed in position".

On Sunday's gaffe, Mickelson says he "wasn't really thinking".

Three weeks on from his weird actions at the U.S. Open, Phil Mickelson found himself at the center of another highly unusual rules controversy on Sunday. He said he would ask a rules official about it, and then lined up and hit his shot, a 281-yard iron in the fairway. He later apologised, saying his anger and frustration got the best of him.

Ten killed, dozens injured in Turkey train derailment
State news agency Anadolu said five wagons came off the tracks in a region near the Greek border, close to the city of Tekirdag. Six of the carriages derailed, with about 360 passengers on board, state-run TRT Haber TV channel said.

The incident occurred on the par-four seventh hole, which Mickelson double-bogeyed after factoring in his penalty.

"I know this should've come sooner, but it's taken me a few days to calm down", Mickelson said.

The penalty did not affect Mickelson's chances of winning the tournament. I'm embarrassed and disappointed by my actions.