Thursday, 22 November, 2018

NASA Spacecraft Breaks Record of Cruising Closest to Sun

Ученые NASA начали новый этап в изучении Солнца NASA Parker Solar Probe spacecraft sets new record with Sun approach
Sandy Nunez | 01 November, 2018, 17:55

Monday was the day when the Parker Solar Probe broke the record of 26.6 million miles that was set om 1976 by the German-US satellite called Helios-2. Its final close approach in 2025 is expected to get within 3.83 million miles of the flaming gaseous orb.

In a Statement, Parker Solar Probe project Manager, Andy Driesman, of the Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Laboratory, said that it has just been 78 days to the launch of Parker Solar Probe and we are closer than ever to the Sun.

Launched in August, Parker is on track to set another record late Monday night. The spaceship is "expected to break the record for fastest spacecraft traveling relative to the Sun on October 29 at about 10:54 pm EDT (Tuesday 0254 GMT)", NASA said.

The probe has been launched this August, so it's wonderful how fast it flies to the Sun.

A NASA sun-studying spacecraft just entered the record books. The previous record was also set by the camera Helios 2 in April 1976. And the sun's powerful gravity will eventually accelerate the probe to a top speed of around 430,000 miles per hour (690,000 km/h), NASA officials have said.

Chelsea beat Lampard's Derby to reach League Cup quarters
I'm not sure today, maybe tomorrow he is going to join us in training.' The Chelsea official website quotes us as saying.

The probe will begin its first solar encounter on October 31.

The Sun-bound mission is expected to last around seven years, during which the probe will orbit the planet Venus to get closer to the Sun. But NASA's Parker Solar Probe zoomed inside that distance today (Oct. 29), crossing the threshold at about 1:04 p.m. EDT (1704 GMT), agency officials said.

NASA employees measure the position and velocity of the probe through a network of deep space network (Deep Space Network).

He also explained that they're very proud, but will also "remain focused on our first solar encounter". A few days later, the probe should reach the first perihelion at 10:28 pm EST - on 5 November (3:28 UTC, November 6). The spacecraft uses a special carbon-composite shield for protection from intense heat and radiation during close flybys.

Solar probe Parker should study the structure and dynamics of magnetic fields in the sources of the solar wind and the plasma particles around the sun.