Friday, 14 December, 2018

Bethesda's support site leaked people's real names and addresses

Glitch in Bethesda Support System Accidentally Gives Users Access to Other Customer Info Bethesda apologises after leak of Fallout 76 players' personal information
Cecil Davis | 06 December, 2018, 15:14

As you might imagine, players will not be able to log into or play Fallout 76 during downtime.

After the insane snafu with Fallout 76's collector's edition not having the correct bag, Bethesda was finally set to make everything right to its customers.

Over the last week, Bethesda has been mired in uproar over a bag. After submitting support tickets to get a replacement canvas bag, as instructed by Bethesda, users discovered that they weren't just seeing their support ticket, but other people's as well.

According to Bethesda's dev team, the update is meant to "address a service issue", but whilst the game is planned to be down for just two hours, it could very well take longer. As in, every ticket going through the system.

Desperate search for missing tourist after 'constant contact' with family stops
Police are growing increasingly concerned about a young British woman who went missing the day before her birthday in New Zealand. Her older brother Michael Millane says police have found CCTV footage of her returning to her Auckland hostel on Saturday night.

"I went on the support website today, to update a ticket of mine, and surprisingly (or not.) I ended up being able to see all sorts of tickets, with people putting their personnal informations in them, like receipt screenshots, names, addresses and so on".

The game was announced at E3 2018 and, based on this piece of information, it doesn't look it has done that much progress. I was unable to file a ticket to attempt to replicate the issue, however, as the ticket-submission page was still missing its "submit" button as of press time. This includes contact details, addresses, and credit card info. They would also be dispatching them free of charge to the unhappy customers.

It appears they posted a screenshot as proof when originally making the post but it has since been taken down to help keep user data as secure as possible, given the situation.

The company says it will notify any customers whose messages and photos may have been inadvertently shared.