Monday, 22 July, 2019

Tua Tagovailoa and Kyler Murray split honors at College Football Awards

OU’s Kyler Murray named The Associated Press College Football Player of the Year Tua Tagovailoa and Kyler Murray split honors at College Football Awards
Cary Erickson | 07 December, 2018, 17:56

Murray has led Oklahoma to a 12-1 record, a Big 12 championship and a berth in the College Football Playoff semifinals, where the Sooners will face Alabama in the Orange Bowl. The Oklahoma quarterback topped Tagovailoa for the Davey O'Brien Award given to the nation's top quarterback. The past four Maxwell winners and past five Walter Camp winners have all gone on to win the Heisman. "It's a special deal for me and hopefully I can continue to make my family and teammates proud".

- Alabama's Jerry Jeudy won the Biletnikoff Award as the nation's top wide receiver.

- Texas A&M punter Braden Mann won the Ray Guy Award. Murray's strong 2018 campaign has drawn comparisons to 2017 Heisman Trophy victor and former Oklahoma starter Baker Mayfield. As a result, Murray is the fifth Sooner to take home the award, joining Sam Bradford (2008), White (2003, '04) and running back Billy Sims (1978). His 4,527 yards of total offense are more than 68 of the country's other 129 teams, including six squads that are ranked in the AP Top 25 Poll. He joins Henry (2015) and McCarron (2013) as the only Crimson Tide players to win the Maxwell Award. The Oakland Athletics took Murray with the ninth pick in the Major League Baseball draft in June. He also added 190 yards and five more touchdowns on the ground, giving him the single-season school record for most combined touchdowns with 42.

Manchester United have time to get back into top four - Jesse Lingard
We are thinking he will start with us soon. "We are thinking the Europa League against Qarabag is a possibility [next Thursday]". The Gunners head into the game on the back of a 20-game unbeaten streak, but they have plenty of injuries to contend with.

Murray has thrown at least two touchdown passes in 12 of 13 games this season, and has thrown at least three TD passes in 10 contests. Mayfield won the award last season.

"It's been a long journey with a lot of waiting, but I think it's all been worth it", Murray said.