Saturday, 16 November, 2019

Kohli completes unprecedented Wisden treble

Sam Curran Sam Curran has won all seven Tests he has appeared in Credit PA
Cary Erickson | 13 April, 2019, 00:31

Indian captain Virat Kohli, for the third consecutive time, has been named as The Wisden Almanack's Leading Cricketer of the Year for 2018.

Some splendid performances through 2018 saw the likes of Beaumont, Curran, Burns and Buttler get picked alongside Kohli as the Five Wisden Cricketers of the Year.

While "The Bible of Cricket" named Kohli the Leading Cricketer in the World for an unprecedented third year in a row, this is the first time for Mandhana in the 2019 edition. Smriti Mandhana was the Leading Cricketer in the women's game.

"Praising the batting display of the Virat Kohli, Wisden editor Lawrence Booth said, 'Despite finishing on the losing side, India captain Virat Kohli shone with the bat, laying to rest his struggles in England in 2014".

Opener Beaumont hit the fastest T20 century by an England women's player in June when she reached three figures from just 47 balls.

Continetti: Buttigieg Shouldn't Have Started a Fight With Pence on Christian Values
Pence served as governor of IN when Buttigieg came out as gay during his re-election campaign for mayor. Pence noted that while he was disappointed in the remarks, he could understand why they were made.

Both Burns and Curran made their Test debuts in 2018, as well as helping Surrey to win their first County Championship title since 2002. The wicket-keeper batsman also continued to do well in the limited overs format and averaged over 50 in ODI cricket.

The Surrey player, who has taken 15 wickets and scored three fifties in his nine Tests to date, also earned a million-dollar IPL deal with Kings XI Punjab.

The 28-year-old, who has passed fifty nine times since his recall, is now Joe Root's vice-captain. She also finished with 198 runs for Southern Vipers in the Women's Super League. This is a list he has not been featured in before because Wisden lists "excellence in, or influence on, the previous English summer are the major criteria for inclusion as a Cricketer of the Year", according to Cricinfo.

He won twin accolades in the latest edition of Wisden Cricketers' Almanack.