Friday, 23 August, 2019

Sri Lanka dump Chandimal amid mass World Cup clearout

Dimuth Karunaratne is the new Sri Lankan ODI captain Dimuth Karunaratne is the new Sri Lankan ODI captain
Cary Erickson | 22 April, 2019, 06:28

Jeffrey Vandersay, the 29-year-old leg-spinner played his last one-dayer in 2017 alongside the 30-year-old 117-match veteran Lahiru Thirimanne.

"The National Selectors today appointed Dimuth Karunaratne as the ODI Captain of the Sri Lankan team".

Youngster Avishka Fernando is involved again, despite failing to impress against South Africa last month, while Nuwan Pradeep is also included.

Sri Lanka have left out five established players from their World Cup squad and appointed Dimuth Karunaratne as captain despite his not playing a one-day worldwide for four years.

Sri Lanka on Thursday announced a 15-member squad for the upcoming 2019 ICC World Cup.

Siriwardana and Vandersay last played an ODI for Sri Lanka in October 2017, against Pakistan in Sharjah, while Mendis' previous appearance in the format came in the 2015 World Cup tie against Afghanistan. Sri Lanka will start their campaign against New Zealand at Sophia Gardens in Cardiff.

Pinterest IPO raises $1.4bn as it shuns social-media tag
Its shares opened at $23.75, well above the $19 they were priced at, and touched a high of $24.99 in its first hour of trading. Losses shrunk from $14 million in 2017 to $8.2 million in 2018 and just $7.5 million in 2019, signaling its rapid growth.

Talking about team balance he said, "In the first eight batsman, we need two of them should be able to bowl at least five overs". "We will have to go ahead with it, we have to fight", Silva further said.

Dananjaya, a mystery spinner who has played 34 ODIs, and Dickwella were dropped after their poor showing in the recent tour of South Africa. Thisara Perera has also been named in the squad.

Sri Lanka takes on South Africa and Australia in the warm-up matches before the World Cup on May 24 and May 27.

Dushmantha Chameera (9 wickets at an average of 49.66), Vishwa Fernando (5 wickets at 67.4), Kasun Rajitha (5 wickets at 47.8), Lahiru Kumara (4 wickets at 35) miss out on selection. The left-handed batsman had recently led Sri Lanka to a Test series in South Africa.

Pace bowler Lasith Malinga, and talented former captain Angelo Mathews were both selected. That was what was important to us at this time.

Sri Lanka have won the Cricket World Cup once in 1996, which was held in India.