Photos and videos you upload to Photos won't be synced with your Photos folder in Drive either - but there will be a button to let you copy them across from one service to the other.
Google has taken to its Keyword blog this morning to explain changes to the sync between their Photos and Drive products. Moreover, those who have a " Google Photos" folder in Drive will be pleased to know that while it will remain on Drive, it will no longer update automatically.
From July, photos and videos you upload to Drive will no longer automatically sync to Google Photos. From next month, cross-syncing between the two apps won't happen automatically as the company has heard feedback about the confusion it can create for file management. And vice versa. The problem, as it turns out, is that users would delete photos from one service but not intend to delete them in the other.
There will soon appear an "upload from Drive" button in Google Photos that will allow users a way to copy videos and photos from Drive to Photos but you will end up having two versions of the same file. In contrast, all the new photos and videos that you upload either on Google Drive or store in Photos won't be available across both products.
In a bid to make things simpler, for regular users and G Suite customers, Google will now implement a more "granular control" over the services to prevent accidental changes and deletion of items across these two products.
Existing photos will remain as-is, and your "Google Photos" folder within Drive will remain in place. "As before, items uploaded in High Quality won't count against your account storage quota, and items uploaded using Backup and Sync in Original Quality to both services will count only once towards your quota".
For users who still want a workaround to sync their photos and videos between Google Photos and Drive, there will still be the Backup and Sync app on Windows and macOS platforms. The same rule applies when you save to Photos.