Tuesday, 07 April, 2020

Google Photos adds a chat feature to make image sharing faster

Google Photos adds a chat feature to make image sharing faster Google Photos adds a chat feature to make image sharing faster
Cecil Davis | 04 December, 2019, 12:54

The new tool is part of the company's so-called Data Transfer Project that was originally announced past year as a collaboration between Facebook, Apple, Google, Microsoft and Twitter to enable users easily transfer their data between various online services.

With the new feature, Google is having another crack at messaging.

"This feature isn't created to replace the chat apps you already use, but we do hope it improves sharing memories with your friends and family in Google Photos", Google said.

The search giant has announced that a chat feature is being added to the Google Photos app, so users can share individual stills and videos with contacts quickly, without needing to create a separate shared album.

Facebook on Tuesday released a new in-app feature that it says will allow users to transfer their photos and videos directly to other social media platforms or media hosting services, including Google Photos.

Young voter asks Elizabeth Warren emotional question about acceptance
At 22, when the marriage "just didn't work out", Warren says, she called her mother to let her know what was going on. Biden also reacted to Senator Elizabeth Warren's strong showing at a Chicago campaign stop.

Keep in mind, though, that all recipients should have a Google account if you want to exchange photos and videos with them. You can also share content with a group by selecting "New group" within Google Photos and then add multiple recipients. It is limiting to some extent, sure. The idea of the new messaging feature is not to replace other messaging apps.

As for the launch, the new direct sharing feature has officially been launched today.

This Google Photos chat feature is gradually rolling out over the next week, and it will work across Android, iOS, and web apps. However, it's still being rolled out.

Once a chat has been started, you can return to it at any time from the "Sharing" tab in Google Photos. I'll make sure to try it out anyway.