Thursday, 12 December, 2019

Kentucky earns No. 9 NCAA seed, will host 1st & 2nd rounds

Utah’s volleyball team will meet Illinois in Provo in the NCAA Tournament Utah senior Berkeley Oblad blocks a ball during the Utes loss to BYU at the Huntsman Center in September
Cary Erickson | 04 December, 2019, 15:42

The Coyotes were selected as one of eight hosts for the first two rounds of the 32-team NIVC.

After waiting 16 years between its last two NCAA tournament appearances, SC volleyball wasted no time in getting back to the postseason in 2019, earning back-to-back tourney berths with an at-large bid Sunday night. The match will be at 4:30 p.m.

The Huskies will host Winthrop, Colorado State, and SC in the first two rounds of the NCAA Tournament, playing Winthrop in the first round at 7:30 p.m. on Friday, Dec. 6.

Should ISU win, the Cyclones would play the victor of No. 7 Minnesota and Fairfield on Saturday night at 7 p.m.

Six Southeastern Conference teams made the tournament: No. 9 Kentucky, No. 10 Florida, No. 13 Texas A&M, Missouri, Georgia and SC. Streaming and broadcast information will be announced later this week.

Ron Rivera to Buffalo Bills so insane it could work
Rivera was dealt a tough hand in 2019 as quarterback Cam Newton went down after Week 2 and ultimately landed on injured reserve. While the team is moving on from its long-time head coach, Hurney will be retaining the job that he has held since 2018.

Nebraska and Minnesota will be among seeded teams hosting first round action this week in the NCAA Volleyball Tournament.

The NCAA revealed its official bracket Sunday night for the NCAA Volleyball Tournament and Pitt (29-1 overall, 18-0 ACC) - despite finishing the regular season with a No. 2 ranking in the American Volleyball Coaches Association poll - earned a No. 6 overall seed by the selection committee. Nebraska is 2-0 all-time against Ball State with the last meeting on September 11, 2004 in Lincoln.

The 2019 season marks the 35th time that Lincoln has hosted NCAA first and second round competition. Southeast Missouri State won the Ohio Valley Conference and earned an automatic qualifying spot, along with Northern Kentucky, who won the Horizon League's auto berth.

In addition to hosting the first two rounds at the Petersen Events Center, PPG Paints Arena will also house the Final Four beginning on December 19.