Wednesday, 15 July, 2020

EU to list which citizens can enter; US likely to miss out

Schengen Visa Coronavirus: EU set to reopen borders to 14 countries on 1 July
Deanna Wagner | 30 June, 2020, 16:25

According to TheCable, The European countries had shut their borders when the COVID-19 pandemic spread into the region.

On the current "safe" list, still likely to be amended, are Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay.

The EU-wide ban came after individual member states closed their national borders in the absence of a coordinated policy.

A New York Times report had earlier claimed that the European Union was mulling blocking Americans from entering its territory since the United States had failed to curb the coronavirus pandemic.

The EU has named 14 countries whose citizens are deemed "safe" to be let in from 1 July, despite the pandemic - but the US, Brazil and China are excluded.

The number of confirmed cases in the United States has surged over the past week, and President Donald Trump also suspended the entry of all people from Europe's ID check-free travel zone in a decree in March, making it highly unlikely that US citizens would qualify.

According to the survey, conducted by Datapraxis and YouGov from late April to the first week of May out across nine European Union countries, over 60 per cent of respondents in Germany, France, Spain, Denmark and Portugal revealed they had lost trust in the U.S. as a global leader.

Gunmen attack Pakistan stock exchange building in Karachi
In May 2019, the BLA warned China of dire consequences if Beijing did not quit CPEC projects in Balochistan. People inside the building were being evacuated from the back door of the building, Geo TV reported.

Surprisingly, India was named on the list despite being the fourth most coronavirus infected country in the world with cases over 545,000 and more than 16,000 deaths.

New Zealanders will be able to travel to Europe from tomorrow.

A senior Bangladesh diplomat said that the government is in touch with the European Union authorities over access into the member states of the Schengen Group.

"The decisions are based on health criteria", EU Commission spokesman Eric Mamer.

Whatever is decided in Brussels will exist only as a recommendation since border control remains a national competence and a limited number of flights to and from banned countries have continued throughout the crisis.

Countries like Germany and Spain, horrified by the devastation of COVID-19, wanted to play it safe.