Sunday, 12 July, 2020

Travelers from United States Officially Barred from Entering European Union

EU to unveil ‘safe list’ of nations allowed to enter amid coronavirus. Where does Canada stand? The EU opens its borders, but not to Americans
Gustavo Carr | 30 June, 2020, 22:40

The 27-member bloc gave majority approval on Tuesday to leisure or business travel from 14 countries beyond its borders, the Council of the European Union, which represents European Union governments, said in a statement.

The EU and Schengen area countries (Switzerland, Norway and Iceland) lifted border controls for EU citizens travelling inside the bloc on June 15th and from July 1st will open their external borders.

Why it matters: It's an worldwide rebuke of the Trump administration's handling of the pandemic.

The criteria for making the list include trends in published pandemic infection rates and whether these are now higher or lower than those in the EU's 27 countries.

The countries would also have to lift any bans they might have on European travelers. Officials have stated that this list "will be reviewed every two weeks to reflect the changing realities of the coronavirus outbreaks in individual nations".

European officials reacted with surprise and anger Thursday (12 March) after US President Donald Trump imposed a trans-Atlantic travel ban they fear will wound economies already reeling from the coronavirus pandemic.

European Union delays decision on external border reopening
The European Union released a list of 54 countries qualified for travels into Europe , reports . Countries like the United States, Brazil and Russian Federation have also been excluded from the list.

On the current "safe" list, still likely to be amended, are Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay.

The US has seen over 2.5 million cases and suffered over 125,000 deaths, roughly a quarter of the global total.

However, the health-based criteria has collided with geopolitics, with some countries reluctant to collectively ban the U.S. while welcoming visitors from China, where the pandemic began. The Politico website said one covered countries with fewer than 16 Covid-19 cases per 100,000 people and the other with up to 20 cases, which would include Canada and Turkey.

The list also reportedly includes European Union citizens who would be treated the same way as United Kingdom nationals until the end of the Brexit transition period on December 31.

It is said the countries however managed to create a list of the countries with a better epidemiological situation, the citizens of which will be able to enter Europe by the end of next week.